Posted by: jrostewart | May 8, 2009

Lifestyles of the Young, Rich and, Self Absorbed….

Leave it to Vanity Fair to give the public the really hard-hitting news. An article by Bob Colacello titled “Fortune’s Children” featured in the June 2009 issue of Vanity Fair examines 38 of the world’s most fortunate heirs and heiresses and their hopes for their future, including some very well-known New York socialites including Alice Bamford and Hayley Bloomingdale. Including a candid pictorial of the privileged youngsters, the story fails to deliver anything less than common knowledge. Surprise! Rich kids want to make art and make the world a better place. Oh, to be young, rich and beautiful with nothing but idle time amidst a devastating economy. Although, I have to admit it’s inspiring to see that these kids know that giving back isn’t just something to do for press, but something that their privilege actually obligates them to do. “With the opportunity I have been given by birth, I would be ashamed if I didn’t do something for others as well as myself,’ says Agnelli scion Lapo Elkann, who calls himself a creative entrepreneur and is involved in everything from introducing an Italian vodka to supporting a hospital in Tel Aviv that cares for both Israelis and Palestinians.”

The article doesn’t lack for the typical “let them eat cake” moments that makes me want to rip each of my eyelashes out one by one. I mean, poor Rebecca De Ravenel had to actually do some of the same work as her housekeeper at the tender age of 17: “I was very spoiled, but I knew that I wanted to work. I was working in a vintage shop when I was 17, and every Saturday morning I’d clean the windows.” Another special quote came courtesy of Dasha Zhukova, who founded the Garage Center for Contemporary Culture, in Moscow, and is editor in chief of Pop magazine. Why would the daughter of an oligarch who is dating an even bigger oligarch give up a life of leisure to work so hard? “I still have a life of leisure,” she says. “I don’t see it as sacrificing.” The last time I checked most people don’t consider working an acutal job a sacrifice so much as a necessity for survival. Perhaps my favourite gem came from Armand Hammer “It was definitely a handful growing up. Kids are so cruel. My nickname was Baking Soda. I was like, ‘You guys don’t get it. I don’t have anything to do with Arm & Hammer baking soda.” It’s a wonder how these poor kids get through childhood with insults like that flying around. I’m sure they were crying themselves to sleep in their 500 thread count Egyptian silk sheets every night. Thanks Vanity Fair for putting things into perspective for us in these troubling times.

dumb but extraordinarily handsome

dumb but extraordinarily handsome

Ms. Bloomingdale

Ms. Bloomingdale

If you check out the Vanity Fair website to read the full article: http://www.vanityfair.com/style/features/2009/06/next-gen200906 , please check out their photo spread of Jessica Simpson. The pictorial is absolutely breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

Categories

